Skip to main content

Nobel Prize Awards

The Nobel Prizes were established by Swedish chemist Alfred Nobel (Oktober 21, 1833 – December 10, 1896).
Since 1901 the prize gets awarded every year to “men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace”. Economic sciences has been added in 1968.

The prizes are granted by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences), the Karolinska Institutet (Physiology or Medicine), the Swedish Academy (Literature) and the Norwegian Nobel Committee (Peace).

The annual Nobel Prize Award ceremonies take place on December 10, Nobel’s death day.


This post may be out of date!

Published on October 12, 2007

4 placemarks 4,739 views 0 views/24h


Embed Code

x px

Leave a Reply